THE LIVING WORLD

The life science revolution

The advent of new technologies combined with pluridisciplinary approaches has enabled spectacular progress in the knowledge of the life sciences. From the microbial world and the discovery of new forms of life to the elucidation of the brain mechanisms, the discipline is undergoing profound changes.


Research


A protein can regulate the immune response

Tuberculosis remains the most deadly infectious disease in the world, with over 1.5 million fatalities recorded each year. The main cause of death in infected individuals is an excessive immune reaction, which causes the progressive destruction of lung tissue. To decipher the molecular mechanisms of this intense inflammatory reaction, researchers1CNRS/Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier became interested in a membrane protein located on dendritic cells, one category of the immune system cells. They first studied the mechanisms of the inflammatory reaction in mice that cannot express the DCIR protein, after having injected them with the tuberculosis bacillus.

The team observed that these mice then generated more interferon-gamma-producing T lymphocytes—interferon-gamma being a substance responsible for activating macrophages, the cells infected by the bacillus. Yet, whilst this cascade of reactions reduces the proliferation of the pathogen within the organism, it also increases inflammation at the level of the lungs, which deteriorate irremediably. These results are in line with previous research, which demonstrated that auto-immune diseases in healthy mice devoid of DCIR proteins tend to rise as these mice age. They strengthen the hypothesis that the receptors in question are targeted by molecules transmitted by the host upon an inflammatory reaction.

Taken together, the sum of these studies provides a glimpse of the possibility that the immune response could be controlled via chemical substances acting directly on DCIR receptors. It could therefore be possible to stimulate the immune reaction whenever it proves incapable of defeating a disease, or on the contrary slow down inflammation before it becomes uncontrollable.

PNAS, January 2017

Source : DCIR : une molécule qui régule l’immunité contre la tuberculose

[:fr]HIV_H9_T-cell_II-web[:en]HIV_H9_T-cell_II[:]

SAVAGE disentangles the viral jungle


By establishing the genomic map of the main variants of a single viral population, this bio-computing tool enables the rapid identification of their characteristics—a technical feat that could help contain some epidemics.

[:fr]graphical-abstract_corrected-web[:en]graphical-abstract_corrected-web.jpg[:]

A molecular Trojan Horse to eliminate tumours


Researchers have succeeded in bringing a drug to the centre of its cellular target using a lipid present in blood. This novel procedure has made it possible to enhance the effectiveness of a molecule used in the treatment of numerous cancers.

[:fr]TaraPacific-01-web[:en]TaraPacific-01-web.jpg[:]

Tara sounds the Pacific coral beds


Since the spring of 2016, the famous schooner has been trawling the Pacific Ocean from East to West to review the situation of its coral reefs.

[:fr]TOC_Art-web[:en]TOC_Art[:]

Medical implants will soon be autonomous in terms of energy


Researchers have developed a miniature enzymatic bio-battery capable of driving an electronic chip. The perspective of being able to operate miniaturized medical sensors using our own body fluids seems to be within reach.

[:fr]krebs-2-web[:en]Figure[:]

The hypothesis of a geochemical origin of life is gaining ground


Researchers have been able to recreate most of the steps of the reverse Krebs cycle in the absence of enzymes.

[:fr]patineuses-eau-web[:]

Revealing the evolution of an aquatic bug against the current


The study of a semi-aquatic insect connects the emergence of a morphological trait with the apparition of new genes in this species. This discovery sheds light on evolutionary processes.

[:fr]cnrs_20170105_0001-web[:en]cnrs_20170105_0001[:]

Magnetized cells to repair organs


For the first time, researchers have been able to fashion and stimulate tissue structures using simple magnets. This research, carried out on preliminarily magnetized embryonic stem cells, could contribute to improving the efficacy of organ grafts.

[:fr]hap2-web[:en]hap2-web.jpg[:]

Could sexual life be viral?


Researchers have identified a protein that is responsible for the fusion between two sexual cells, one male and one female.

[:fr]RecepteursSynaptiques-1-web[:en]RecepteursSynaptiques1[:]

A novel memory control mechanism is revealed


To fix a memory, neurones add neurotransmitter receptors to their synapses. This form of regulation is notably involved in the learning process.

[:fr]cerveau-1-web[:en]visuel 1[:]

The spatial structure of the genome is involved in the construction of the brain


Researchers have been able to draw up an accurate map of the neuronal genome during differentiation.


NEWS IN BRIEF



Innovation



In brIef


Momentum selects 19 projects


The Momentum programme announced its laureates, having selected 19 projects out of the 430 eligible applications. Launched in 2016, this programme supports scientists of any nationality, who obtained their PhD less than eight years ago. It backs innovative research in emerging and cross-disciplinary fields. The researchers receive funding of up to 60,000 euros per year for a period of three years.

VIVANT

La révolution du vivant

Le développement de nouvelles technologies, associé aux approches pluridisciplinaires, a permis des avancées spectaculaires des connaissances du vivant. De l’exploration du monde microbien et la découverte de nouvelles formes de vie à la compréhension du fonctionnement du cerveau, le vivant connaît une véritable révolution.


La recherche


Une protéine, vigie contre la tuberculose

Avec plus d’1,5 million de morts recensés chaque année, la tuberculose reste la maladie infectieuse la plus meurtrière au monde. Une réaction immunitaire excessive provoquant la destruction progressive du tissu pulmonaire est la cause principale du décès des personnes infectées.

DCIR, un récepteur à la surface des cellules dendritiques

Afin de décrypter les rouages moléculaires en cause, des chercheurs de l’Institut de pharmacologie et de biologie structurale1CNRS/Université de Toulouse Paul Sabatier se sont intéressés à la protéine membranaire DCIR située sur les cellules dendritiques, une catégorie de cellules immunitaires. Ils ont d’abord étudié les mécanismes de la réaction inflammatoire chez des souris incapables d’exprimer cette protéine, après leur avoir injecté le bacille de la tuberculose. L’équipe a constaté que ces souris généraient davantage de lymphocytes T produisant l’interféron-gamma, une substance responsable de l’activation des macrophages, les cellules infectées par le bacille. Or, si cette cascade de réactions a pour effet de limiter la prolifération du pathogène dans l’organisme, elle accroît aussi l’inflammation au niveau des poumons qui se détériorent irrémédiablement.

La perspective de contrôler la réponse immunitaire

Ces résultats confirment de précédentes recherches qui avaient démontré que des souris saines dépourvues de protéines DCIR développaient plus souvent des maladies auto-immunes en vieillissant. Ils renforcent ainsi l’hypothèse selon laquelle ces récepteurs sont ciblés par des molécules émises par l’hôte en cas de réaction inflammatoire. L’ensemble de ces travaux laisse entrevoir la possibilité de contrôler la réponse immunitaire via des substances chimiques agissant directement sur les récepteurs DCIR. Il serait dès lors envisageable de stimuler la réponse immunitaire lorsque celle-ci se révèle incapable de combattre une maladie ou, au contraire, freiner l’inflammation avant qu’elle ne devienne incontrôlable.

PNAS, janvier 2017

Source : DCIR : une molécule qui régule l’immunité contre la tuberculose

[:fr]HIV_H9_T-cell_II-web[:en]HIV_H9_T-cell_II[:]

SAVAGE déjoue la complexité virale


Cet outil bio-informatique établit la carte génomique des principaux variants d’une même population de virus, permettant ainsi d’identifier rapidement leurs caractéristiques. Cette prouesse technique pourrait contribuer à circonscrire certaines épidémies.

[:fr]graphical-abstract_corrected-web[:en]graphical-abstract_corrected-web.jpg[:]

Un cheval de Troie moléculaire pour éliminer les tumeurs


Des chercheurs sont parvenus à acheminer un médicament au cœur de sa cible cellulaire à l'aide d'un lipide présent dans le sang. Un nouveau concept thérapeutique de « vectorisation indirecte » d’anticancéreux est né.

[:fr]TaraPacific-01-web[:en]TaraPacific-01-web.jpg[:]

Les récifs coralliens sous observation


Depuis le printemps 2016, la goélette Tara sillonne l’océan Pacifique pour dresser un état de santé des récifs coralliens affectés par le changement climatique.

[:fr]TOC_Art-web[:en]TOC_Art[:]

Des implants médicaux bientôt autonomes en énergie


Grâce à une micro-biopile enzymatique, la perspective de faire fonctionner un pacemaker en tirant l’énergie de nos propres fluides corporels se rapproche…

[:fr]krebs-2-web[:en]Figure[:]

Des réactions chimiques aux origines de la vie ?


En reconstituant six des onze étapes du cycle de Krebs inverse sans utiliser d'enzymes, des chercheurs réalisent une avancée dans la compréhension des conditions d’apparition de la vie.

[:fr]patineuses-eau-web[:]

Évolution : les indices des patineuses d'eau


En étudiant la prouesse des Rhagovelia, des punaises d’eau qui remontent le courant des rivières, des chercheurs parviennent à mieux comprendre les processus évolutifs.

[:fr]cnrs_20170105_0001-web[:en]cnrs_20170105_0001[:]

Des cellules magnétiques au service de l’ingénierie tissulaire


Des travaux menés pour la première fois sur des cellules souches embryonnaires préalablement magnétisées pourraient contribuer à améliorer l'efficacité des greffes d'organes.

[:fr]hap2-web[:en]hap2-web.jpg[:]

Un virus acteur de l’apparition de la vie sexuelle ?


Des chercheurs ont identifié la protéine HAP2, responsable de la fusion entre deux cellules sexuelles mâle et femelle, qui pourrait être l'héritage d'échanges génétiques très anciens entre virus et cellules. De nouvelles pistes de recherche à visées thérapeutiques sont ouvertes.

[:fr]RecepteursSynaptiques-1-web[:en]RecepteursSynaptiques1[:]

Des perspectives pour la régulation de l’activité neuronale


La mobilité des récepteurs synaptiques est impliquée dans les processus d'apprentissage. Cette découverte est une percée dans la connaissance des mécanismes moléculaires de la mémoire.

[:fr]cerveau-1-web[:en]visuel 1[:]

Organisation 3D du génome et construction du cerveau


Des chercheurs ont constaté que la variation à de multiples échelles de l'architecture tridimensionnelle du génome garantit le bon développement du cerveau.


Et aussi



Innovation



En bref


Momentum retient 19 projets


Le programme Momentum a dévoilé ses lauréats, retenant 19 projets sur les 430 dossiers éligibles. Lancé en 2016, ce programme s’adresse aux scientifiques de toute nationalité ayant obtenu leur doctorat depuis moins de huit ans et soutenant des recherches innovantes dans des domaines émergents et transdisciplinaires. Les chercheurs bénéficient d’un financement allant jusqu’à 60 000 euros par an pour une période de trois ans.