A 2.0 Encyclopaedia of the Enlightenment


For the first time, a critical edition of Diderot and d’Alembert's original Encyclopaedia has been published online. "Digital versions already existed but none was complete and had undergone expert evaluation, nor did they correspond to the first original edition," points out Alexandre Guilbaud, senior lecturer at the Jussieu Mathematics Institute1CNRS/Sorbonne Université/Université Paris-Diderot and co-leader of the project.

The ENCCRE2Édition Numérique Collaborative et CRitique de l’Encyclopédie (“Online Collaborative and Critical Edition of the Encyclopaedia”) project was launched six years ago and is led by the French Académie des Sciences and its d’Alembert committee. It first consisted in digitalizing the original edition kept at the Mazarine Library, in Paris. Specialists on all or part of the book, numbering 120 today, then developed an editorial policy, adding notes and comments to enrich this version. “The initial plain text is difficult to understand, particularly for members of the public,”explains Alexandre Guilbaud.

The Encyclopaedia also has a complex history. It is a militant work that was banned twice and was written over a period of more than twenty years by nearly 200 contributors. Certain articles initially planned were actually never written. “Digital methods offer new solutions,” the scientist enthuses. “We were able to create browsing tools adapted to managing linked references between articles or engraved plates and capable of flagging up these types of snags.” Work is continuing—a platform restricted to members of the project is being used to perfect new additions before including them in the public version.

Une encyclopédie des Lumières 2.0


L’Encyclopédie de Diderot, d’Alembert et Jaucourt, œuvre majeure des Lumières, fait l’objet d’une première édition numérique, collaborative et critique.

L’Encyclopédie des Lumières est publiée pour la première fois sur le web. « Des versions numérisées existaient déjà mais aucune n’était complète et expertisée, ni ne correspondait à la première édition originale », précise Alexandre Guilbaud, de l’Institut de mathématiques de Jussieu-Paris Rive Gauche1CNRS/Sorbonne Université/Université Paris Diderot, coresponsable du projet.

Lancé il y a six ans, le projet ENCCRE2Édition numérique collaborative et critique de l’Encyclopédie, porté par l’Académie des sciences et son Comité d’Alembert, a d’abord consisté à numériser l’édition originale conservée à la bibliothèque Mazarine. Des spécialistes de tout ou partie de l’ouvrage, au nombre de 120, ont ensuite développé une politique éditoriale ainsi que des annotations et commentaires pour enrichir cette édition. « Le texte original est difficile à appréhender, notamment pour le grand public », explique Alexandre Guilbaud.

L’Encyclopédie a une histoire complexe : c’est une œuvre militante, par deux fois interdite, élaborée sur plus de vingt ans par près de 200 contributeurs. Certains articles prévus au départ n’ont, par exemple, jamais été écrits. « Le numérique offre des solutions, s’enthousiasme Alexandre Guilbaud, nous avons pu créer des outils de navigation adaptés aux renvois entre articles ou aux planches gravées et capables de signaler ce type d’impasses. » Le travail se poursuit : une plateforme réservée aux membres du projet permet de mettre au point de nouveaux enrichissements avant de les basculer sur la version publique.