MATTER AND PARTICLES

Matter reveals itself

From the start onset of a new form of physics in particle collisions to the quantum computer race via the former pathways of the art market revealed by spectroscopy, matter is teeming with mysteries that research attempts to clarify.


Research


Artificial photosynthesis recycles CO2 into methane

The CO2 rejected by human activities, which is the principal element responsible main factor for global warming, could. One day, this could be easily be recycled to supply into an energy source. This is precisely what the research work byof a team from the Laboratoire d’électrochimie moléculaire (LEM)1Laboratoire d’Electrochimie Moléculaire (CNRS/ Université Paris Diderot/ Université Sorbonne Paris Cité) promises seeks to do just that achieve. The researchers scientists have developed come up with a procedure process capable ofthat can transforming greenhouse effect gas into methane, the principal component of natural gas, simply by using solar light and a molecular catalyst.

In contrast to other procedures of CO2 transformation methods used to date, the one technique developed by the chemists is much more environmentally-friendly; the reaction is carried out occurs at atmospheric temperature and pressure, and uses relies on sunlight as the only energy source, a principle that is comparable to that of photosynthesis in which plants transform CO2 using through solar energy. Additionally, the catalyst used is based on iron, an abundant, non-toxic metal. “For all these reasons, the large-scale development of our procedure system is an a aim goal that we wish want to pursue”, underlines Marc Robert, of the LEM.

For this wish to become reality come true, the researchers are now attempting to understand CO2 catalysis in the minutest detail. The first phase step of the procedure process, where CO2 is transformed into carbon monoxide, is already perfectly well-described. Moreover, the chemists have designed a device dedicated uniquely solely to this reaction, which won earned Marc Robert and his colleagues Jean-Michel Savéant and Cyrille Costentin the Air Liquide Air company’s prize for the challenge of group’s “Essential Mmolecules Challenge”. Carbon monoxide is a key raw material that is important for the chemical industry in the short-term. The LEM team plans to develop a reactor that is capable of able to producinge this gas in large quantities.

Nature, July 2017

Sources :
Ces chimistes à l’assaut du CO2
Vers une production de “carburant solaire”

[:fr]image_sennelart_web.jpg[:]

An important step towards the quantum transistor


Physicists have designed a quantum gate capable of blocking photons or letting them through one by one.

[:fr]CNRS_20160041_0011-web-e1529412771237.jpg[:]

The Nobel Prize in Physics rewards topology


This branch of mathematics enabled the three laureates of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics to explain changes in the state of matter in extremely thin-layer media.

[:fr]cnrs_20170130_0006-web.jpg[:]

New AGLAÉ: a world first


The performance of the particle accelerator dedicated to the study of works of art has been considerably enhanced.

[:fr]cnrs_20110001_2535-web[:en]cnrs_20110001_2535-web.jpg[:]

Krypton-67, a new atomic nucleus detected


When Krypton-67 disintegrates, two protons are emitted. This is a highly unusual form of radioactivity.

[:fr]Figure1-web[:en]Figure1-web.jpg[:]

Controlled blossoming of a “molecular flower”


By succeeding in changing the shape of a synthetic molecule, researchers have paved the way for the elaboration of complex macromolecular systems.

[:fr]DESY_Hamburg-web[:en]DESY_Hamburg-web.jpg[:]

European XFEL takes the stage


The new ultrafast X-ray laser will allow Europeans to analyse the real time dynamics of molecules or nano-objects at the atomic-scale resolution.

[:fr]Network2-web[:en]Network2-web.jpg[:]

Graphene to reinforce ceramics


Researchers drew inspiration from mother-of-pearl, a natural phenomenon in shellfish, to make a material stronger.


News in brief



Innovation



In brief


cnrs_20110001_2143-web
© L. Ronat/CNRS Photothèque

The Plasma Jets project led by the GREMI1Groupe de Recherches sur l’Énergétique des Milieux Ionisés (CNRS/Université d’Orléans) received the Cosmetic Victories competition’s Academic Prize at Cosmetic 360, the perfume-cosmetics international innovation exhibition. This distinction rewards research of excellence in a field where the CNRS federates more than 50 laboratories, with the Cosm’Actifs research network, and leads technology transfer through the creation of a cosmetics “CNRS Transfer Focus”, which has already filed 131 patents.

The CNRS pre-incubation programme is endowed with an annual budget of €2 million. It supports the first development stages of projects with high innovation potential, until proof of concept is reached. Acting upstream of the technology transfer companies (SATTs), it selects and finances some twenty projects each year. The solid intellectual property, the keen interest shown by industrial companies, as well as the numerous distinctions awarded to the projects and the media coverage they attracted, all emphasize the relevance of a programme made available to laboratories.

MATIÈRE ET PARTICULES

La matière se dévoile

Depuis les prémices d’une nouvelle physique dans les collisions de particules jusqu’à la course à l’ordinateur quantique, en passant par d’anciennes routes du marché de l’art dévoilées par la spectroscopie, la matière fourmille de mystères que la recherche tente d’élucider.


La recherche


Quand le CO2 deviendra méthane

Principal responsable du réchauffement climatique, le CO2 rejeté par les activités humaines pourrait un jour être recyclé facilement en une source d’énergie. C’est ce que promettent les travaux d’une équipe du Laboratoire d’électrochimie moléculaire (LEM)1CNRS/ Université Paris Diderot qui a mis au point un procédé capable de transformer ce gaz à effet de serre en méthane, constituant principal du gaz naturel, simplement à l’aide de la lumière solaire et d’un catalyseur moléculaire.

Respect de l’environnement, un fil conducteur

Contrairement aux autres méthodes de transformation du CO2 utilisées jusqu’ici, celle-ci est beaucoup plus respectueuse de l’environnement : la réaction se réalise à température et pression ambiantes et fait appel au rayonnement du Soleil comme seule source d’énergie. Ce principe est comparable à celui de la photosynthèse, au cours de laquelle les plantes transforment le CO2 grâce à l’énergie solaire. Et le catalyseur employé est à base de fer, un métal abondant et non toxique. « Pour toutes ces raisons, le développement à grande échelle de notre procédé est un objectif que l’on souhaite poursuivre », souligne Marc Robert, du LEM.

À court terme, une production de monoxyde de carbone

Dans ce but, les chercheurs tentent maintenant de comprendre la catalyse du CO2 dans ses moindres détails. D’ores et déjà, la première phase, celle de la transformation du CO2 en monoxyde de carbone, est parfaitement bien décrite. Les chimistes ont d’ailleurs conçu un dispositif dédié uniquement à cette réaction, ce qui a valu à Marc Robert et à ses collègues Jean-Michel Savéant et Cyrille Costentin, de recevoir le prix du ”Challenge des molécules essentielles” de la société Air Liquide. Le monoxyde de carbone est une matière première importante pour l’industrie chimique et, à court terme, l’équipe du LEM compte développer un réacteur capable de produire ce gaz en grande quantité.

Nature, juillet 2017

Sources :
Ces chimistes à l’assaut du CO2
Vers une production de “carburant solaire”

[:fr]image_sennelart_web.jpg[:]

Un pas important vers le transistor quantique


Des physiciens ont conçu une porte quantique capable de bloquer ou de laisser passer des photons un à un.

[:fr]CNRS_20160041_0011-web-e1529412771237.jpg[:]

La topologie au rendez-vous du prix Nobel de physique


Grâce à cette branche des mathématiques, les trois lauréats du Nobel de physique 2016 ont pu expliquer des changements d’état de la matière dans des milieux très fins.

[:fr]cnrs_20170130_0006-web.jpg[:]

New AGLAÉ, un instrument unique au monde


Les performances de l'accélérateur de particules destiné à l'étude d'œuvres d’art ont été considérablement améliorées.

[:fr]cnrs_20110001_2535-web[:en]cnrs_20110001_2535-web.jpg[:]

Krypton-67, un nouveau noyau atomique détecté


Le krypton-67 se désintègre en émettant deux protons, une forme très particulière de radioactivité…

[:fr]Figure1-web[:en]Figure1-web.jpg[:]

L'éclosion contrôlée d'une « fleur moléculaire »


En réussissant à changer la forme d’une molécule synthétique, des chercheurs ouvrent la voie à l’élaboration de systèmes macromoléculaires complexes.

[:fr]DESY_Hamburg-web[:en]DESY_Hamburg-web.jpg[:]

European XFEL entre en scène


Le nouveau laser à rayons X ultra-rapide va permettre aux Européens d’analyser en temps réel la dynamique de molécules ou nano-objets avec une résolution à l'échelle de l'atome.

[:fr]Network2-web[:en]Network2-web.jpg[:]

Du graphène pour renforcer les céramiques


Ou comment des chercheurs s’inspirent d’un phénomène naturel dans la nacre des coquillages pour rendre un matériau moins fragile.


Et aussi



Innovation



En bref


cnrs_20110001_2143-web
© L. Ronat/CNRS Photothèque

Le projet Plasma Jets, porté par le Groupe de recherches sur l’énergétique des milieux ionisés1GREMI, université d’Orléans/CNRS a reçu le Prix académique du concours Cosmetic Victories, lors de Cosmetic 360, le salon international de l’innovation de la filière parfumerie-cosmétique. Cette distinction salue l’excellence de la recherche dans un secteur où le CNRS fédère plus de 50 laboratoires avec le groupement de recherche COSM’ACTIFS et assure un leadership sur la valorisation des travaux avec la création d’un “Focus Transfert CNRS” Cosmétique, riche de 131 brevets.

Le programme de prématuration du CNRS, doté de 2 millions d’euros par an, soutient les premières étapes de développement de projets à fort potentiel d’innovation et ce jusqu’à la preuve du concept. En amont de l’action des SATT, il sélectionne et finance une vingtaine de dossiers par an. La solidité de la propriété intellectuelle, l’intérêt marqué des industriels, les nombreuses distinctions ou les retombées médiatiques réservées aux projets, soulignent la pertinence d’un programme mis à la disposition des laboratoires.