Controlled blossoming of a "molecular flower"


By succeeding in changing the shape of a synthetic molecule, researchers have paved the way for the elaboration of complex macromolecular systems.

Chemists from the LCC1Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination (CNRS/Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier/INP Toulouse), the LISE2Laboratoire Interfaces et Systèmes Electrochimiques (CNRS/Sorbonne Université) and the LIMA3Laboratoire d’Innovation Moléculaire et Applications (CNRS/Université de Strasbourg/Université de Haute-Alsace) have succeeded in controlling the folding and unfolding of a macromolecule that had been previously synthesized, using different types of stimulation. Sixty times bigger than an aspirin molecule, this polymer is composed of a central part surrounded by ten identical units that include a zinc atom. By cooling the medium to minus 70 °C, each zinc atom binds to a group situated between the centre and the periphery of the molecule, forcing the latter to fold. In contrast, when the medium is heated to 100°C, these chemical bonds break, causing the molecule to unfold.

The researchers have even succeeded in obtaining this change in form in two other ways. By an oxidation- or in contrast a reduction reaction, they could make or break the same chemical bonds. Furthermore, upon placing the macromolecule in the presence of a specific ligand, the latter was found to prevent the chemical bonds from forming, triggering the blossoming of this “molecular flower”.

These results could help improve researchers’ understanding of how the three-dimensional structures of biological molecules influence their activity. They also pave the way for the possible development of complex macromolecular systems with properties or functions that could be controlled merely by changing their shape.

Chemistry—A European Journal, 2017

L'éclosion contrôlée d'une « fleur moléculaire »


En réussissant à changer la forme d’une molécule synthétique, des chercheurs ouvrent la voie à l’élaboration de systèmes macromoléculaires complexes.

Des chimistes de trois laboratoires1Laboratoire de chimie de coordination (CNRS/Université Toulouse Paul Sabatier/ INP Toulouse) – Laboratoire interfaces et systèmes électrochimiques (CNRS/UPMC/Sorbonne Université) – Laboratoire d’innovation moléculaire et applications (CNRS/Université de Strasbourg/Université Haute-Alsace) sont parvenus à contrôler, par différents types de stimulation, le dépliement et le repliement d’une macromolécule qu’ils avaient synthétisée auparavant. Soixante fois plus grosse qu’une molécule d’aspirine, celle-ci se compose d’une partie centrale entourée de dix unités identiques comprenant un atome de zinc. En refroidissant le milieu à – 70°C, chaque atome de zinc se lie à un groupement situé entre le cœur et la périphérie de la molécule, obligeant celle-ci à se replier. Inversement, en chauffant le milieu à 100°C, ces liaisons se défont, entraînant le dépliement de la molécule.

Les chercheurs ont également réussi à obtenir ce changement de forme de deux autres façons. Par une réaction d’oxydation ou au contraire de réduction, ils ont pu faire ou défaire les mêmes liaisons chimiques. Et en mettant la molécule en présence d’un ligand particulier, celui-ci a empêché les liaisons de se former, provoquant l’éclosion de cette ”fleur moléculaire”.

Ces résultats pourraient permettre de mieux comprendre comment la structure tridimensionnelle des molécules biologiques influence leur activité. Ils ouvrent aussi la voie à l’élaboration de systèmes macromoléculaires complexes dont on pourrait contrôler les propriétés ou les fonctions simplement en changeant leur forme.

Chemistry – A European Journal, 2017